My ‘Reading Life’ Snippets #1

I grew up reading books. First it was my primary school text books with classic tales, myths, and legends. That’s why I’m forever glued to my eyeglasses now! Bacause no one told me I shouldn’t be reading while flat on my back in bed 🙁. Reading like that will cause your eyeballs to elongate, affecting the focus of the light that passes through the eyes’ lens and goes through the Retina, resulting in blurred vision.  

Anyway, one day my mom brought home four huge (that’s what I thought at the time) historical romances.  I don’t think she knew it wasn’t age appropriate reading material for a 12-year-old girl.  She’s not into books, thus, I don’t think she has any inklings of the steamy bed scenes on those romances.  She just knows I love reading books. Frankly, I’m so eternally grateful! Oh not because of those 😉😊.  Honest.  It’s just that books in this genre have a deeper vocabulary, they are rich and textured.  So when I read those historical romances, Mr. Webster became my constant companion. My understanding of the English language deepened and it started my fascination of how people lived their lives in the distant past.

Some of my favorite books in this genre:(Some cliched titles and unimaginative book covers but still great reads all the same.)

  • The Wedding, The Prize, Guardian Angel, For the Roses, and Ransom  by Julie Garwood
  • Until You, Once and Always, and Something Wonderful by Judith McNaught
  • Only With Your Love and Stranger in my Arms by Lisa Kleypas
  • Forbidden by Elizabeth Lowell
  • Midnight Bayou by Nora Roberts
  • A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux

Have you read a historical romance book? Let’s talk about it in the comments.

7 thoughts on “My ‘Reading Life’ Snippets #1

  1. Loved Midnight Bayou by Nora Roberts. One of my favorites. Have you read any Stephanie Laurens? Her Cynster series is really well done and interesting. I also really liked her Black Dagger Brotherhood series (at least that’s what I think it’s called). If you get a chance i’d giver her a read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Midnight Bayou is one of Ms. Robert’s best. Haven’t read anything of Ms. Laurens. But the Black Dagger Brotherhood is written by J.R. Ward. Have read book 1 to 11. I think earlier books in the series were great. My favorite is Zsadist book. What’s yours?

      Like

      1. It is one of her better books for sure. You should take a look at her books at some point. They’re well researched and laid out. I realized that mistake after I typed it out. :s A friend of mine is huge into the Black Dagger Brotherhood and I’ve slowly been reading my way through them. I have to say I agree with you about Zsadist’s book. It’s definitely one of my favorites. I also really liked Rev’s book as well. I think I mostly just like all the women in the series – they’re so bad ass.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

