Hunting for a Gem

Books

It’s been awhile since I’ve read a book that have wholly captivated me, my mind and heart so engaged, it had me absolutely fascinated with its world and falling in love with the characters.  A book that has you turning pages as fast as you can read and leaves you breathless for the next installment if it’s a series.

The last few days have me reading quite a  lot of book reviews and some novels have caught my interest and intrigued me enough that I have decided to give them a go.  Here’s to hoping I will find a gem or two.

I listed the books here with a link and quote for each one.  Tell me If you have read one of these or you might suggest other great books in the comments.

  1. The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George “There are books that are suitable for a million people, others for only a hundred. There are even remedies—I mean books—that were written for one person only… A book is both medic and medicine at once.  It makes a diagnosis as well as offering therapy.  Putting the right novels to the appropriate ailments: that’s how I sell books.”
  2. The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro“But then again I wonder if what we feel in our hearts today isn’t like these raindrops still falling on us from the soaked leaves above, even though the sky itself long stopped raining.  I’m wondering if without our memories, there’s nothing for it but for our love to fade and die.”
  3. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake“I’ve seen most of what there is to be afraid of in this world, and to tell you the truth, the worst of them are the ones that make you afraid in the light.  The things that your eyes see plainly and can’t forget are worse than huddled black figures left to the imagination.  Imagination has a poor memory; it slinks away and goes blurry.  Eyes remember for much longer.”
  4. Hounded by Kevin Hearne“I can’t spend too much time in the forests because I invariably leave traces-ridiculously happy trees, basically, since I’m the last Druid in the world and they tend to geek out like Joss Whedon fans when I show up.”
  5. And I Darken by Kiersten White“The last time she was up here, she had been… staring up at the sky and dreaming of stars.  Now, she looked down and plotted flames.”
Leave a Reply

