The Fault In Our Stars

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

I’ve read the book and now I’ve seen the movie.  I can’t say that The Fault In Our Stars, a novel written by John Green, is the best thing I have ever read because it’s not.  But it is pretty good.  I’m not limited to reading fantasy, so once in awhile I find myself deviating from my usual fare and reading about stories that dealt with real issues, issues that touches the lives of real people.  Of course the book is a work of fiction.  However, Cancer is not.  The adversities faced, the sacrifices made and the pain experienced were all real.  And felt by real people – people who had suffered and still suffers from the disease and the family and friends who loved them.

Some people may found the words said by Augustus Waters or a guy like Augustus unrealistic.  But who can say for certain?  With the billions of people around the world, there might just be one who exists.

I rarely say this but I liked the film adaptation of the novel more.  Mainly because it made me feel things that I felt were missing in the book.  I have put off watching this movie for a really long time just for the sole reason of not wanting to cry.  But then I’ve finally decided to see it because Michael Gordon Clifford, 5SOS guitarist, have confessed that he had seen it and cried (Oh and I’m not some crazed  teenager who likes some bands just because of their looks.  I’m far too old and sensible.  I just happened to have a varied taste in music 🙂 ).  Anyways, I think Mikey has a beautiful soul.  I once heard a local celebrity said that if you shed a tear while reading a book or watching a movie or even while listening to a beautiful piece of  music, that your soul is still intact.  It’s a nice thought that I’m still in touch with mine.  Yeah, I have shed some with this movie.  But I’m glad that I have taken the time to see it.

Also, it is worth to note that songs  written and performed by Birdy, Ed Sheeran and OneRepublic are part of the Film’s Official Soundtrack.  However, my absolute love (even though it is not part of the movie soundtrack) is the song with the same title as the book and movie and was written and performed by Troye Sivan.  Click here to watch the music video.

Read the novel.  See the movie.  And listen to the music.  I highly recommend it.

2 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars

  1. I read this book last year for my Young Adult Literature class but I haven’t seen the movie yet. I’ll have to check it out, especially since you think it improved a little on feelings left out of the book. Very interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

